top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenewed Joy

The Oily Mama's "Not So Knotty"


As a southern belle living in the south all of my life, I've grown to accept 2 things that Summertime plummets it's residents with. The first thing is the plague of mosquitoes. These aren't your regular bzzz-bzzz mosquitoes. These are the "all-you-can-eat buffet" mosquitoes. These are mosquitoes so heavy that they are too lazy to fly! And the 2nd thing is the humidity that makes you feel like you just walked into a musty steam room.

So imagine the aggravation of dealing with semi-natural hair. Okay, maybe I should explain. To avoid the "natural-sistah" police, I'm avoiding saying that I'm natural because 3 times out the year, I use a softener to help my hair become more manageable. So "technically" I'm not considered "natural" but my hair behaves and acts as if it is. So, I purchase products for natural hair. I still have to deal with shrinkage, tangles, deep conditioning, and everything else that goes along with caring for natural hair, so in my book, I'm natural ( but let's keep that between me and you....I don't want the natural hair police to come looking for me).

So, I'm constantly searching for something that helps me maintain, strengthen, and moisturize my hair, as well as to help retain growth. Keep in mind, the humidity is ridiculous here, and humidity + curly hair = poof ball! There are only a few things worse than working hard on your hair the night before, and that morning, only to walk out to your car and all of the curls fall and your hair becomes lifeless. By the time I get to work, my hair looks like i went through the dryer at the car wash and it's so embarrassing. So, it's important that I keep a couple of things in my hair care arsenal that I use on a regular basis. But you know how from time to time, it helps to change up products on your hair, in order for your hair to respond better? It's about that time again for me! So, when I came across the giveaway on Instagram that The Oily Mama was having, I became very interested. The name itself "Not So Knotty" drew my attention. Being able to comb through my hair and decrease the amount of single-strand knots makes a big difference in my hair care routine.

In the picture on the right, you can see the before picture on the left that has no product on my hair. On the right, is the "Not So Knotty" Detangling Spray, and nothing else. This is after 3 minutes of it sitting on my hair. You can see that it helped to bring out my curl pattern and moisturizes my hair. This not only helps prepare the hair for combing and styling, but it is made from organic ingredients. I haven't even begun to talk about the smell. The smell is a nice, crisp clean fragrance. It's not overwhelming, and it is actually a relaxing scent that I feel helps add to my night-time routine. This is also an excellent conditioner, safe to use on children, and also helps to prevent and treat lice. This detangling spray is only $7 for a 4 oz spray bottle! That is not the only thing she has either. She has everything from lip balm and body scrub, to deodorant, and items for the whole family.

So, would I purchase it? YES, YES, and YES I will. First of all, you already know me. I'm always looking for a good deal! And this my friend, is a great deal. I will be keeping you posted as to some of the other products that I try from oily mama. Oh, and if you're interested in trying some natural, organic products for you and your family, you can contact her on instagram @theoilymama305 . Tell her Renewed Joy sent you. As always, stay beautiful, stay healthy, and stay blessed!


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page