top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenewed Joy

Spotty Bananas..No Problem!

I am constantly on the hunt for the next best recipe. Ever since I was a teenager, I was taught to make EVERYTHING and I do mean EVERYTHING from scratch. I can remember the first time I made a cake in front of one of my classmates and she was amazed that you can take eggs, sugar, flour, and milk and a cake pops out the oven. I never ever thought to use cake mix to make a cake or cupcakes. You're talkin' about being in the Hall of Fame of Disappointments!

But as I'm constantly inspired by thousands of recipes from Pinterest, I realize now that many of my recipes that I cook now, are inspired by them. So when I saw some bananas on the kitchen counter, barely hanging on by the stem, I knew I had to use them up. And boy am I glad that I did.



So, I did what I do best. I went to my Pinterest board and looked up one of the easiest recipes that I could find. I came across the Easy 1-2-3 Banana Bread Recipe. If you click on the link right here, https://www.stockpilingmoms.com/easy-3-ingredient-banana-bread/ , it will take you directly to the recipe! This recipe is lower in calories because it doesn't call for butter, oil, or even milk. It just requires mashed bananas, yellow cake mix, and 2 eggs. Yes, I'm aware that the picture to the right shows 3 eggs, and that's because I added an egg for texture. I've made it with 2 eggs and it turned out delicious as well, but I prefer the texture that 3 eggs gives the banana bread.

When I tell you it's easy, I mean that it's so easy, that your 9-year old son whose addicted to Fortnite can make this on their own. (Am I the only parent that deals with this Fortnite takeover?) All you have to do is mash the bananas, add cake mix, add eggs, then mix well. I used two 8x4 loaf pans, lined with parchment paper and baked them in a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. Just check out the easy peasy process below!


Slicing bananas will make it easier to mashed !

1. Slice the bananas into a large bowl. This makes it easier for you to mash them with a fork. It's okay to leave some clumps in there. (It adds more to the texture of the bread.)



2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Add the cake mix to it.


3. Add the eggs to it and mix well.


4. Once mixed well, add to 2 - greased 8x4 loaf pans ( or pans lined with parchment).


5. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown. Keep in mind that different ovens and different altitudes will cause the cooking time to vary.


6. This is the best step...Enjoy! I'm not ashamed to say that I did not wait for it to cool down either!



As you can see to my right, I decided to be a bit adventurous and add pecans (only because I didn't have walnuts). But, me and my family loved the way it turn out. I encourage you to try different add-ins also. You can add: chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, or even coconut.


I as also thinking, that if using yellow cake mix was this delicious, then why not try other cake mix flavors? Chocolate banana bread sure sounds good for a nice evening treat. Oh and with the Fall right around the corner, I'm wondering if I can use some pumpkin puree to make a basic pumpkin spice bread? I may have to give that one a try.

Let me know if you give this recipe a try and how it turned out for you. What did you add to it? Do you have a favorite recipe you think tops this one? I'd like to know. Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

16 views0 comments
bottom of page